The United Kingdom – a Land Composed of Many Countries

United Kingdom

The United Kingdom is a sovereign state that includes England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. The four countries have been united under a single monarch since the Union of the Crowns in 1603. Each country has its parliament, but the countries do not have their flags. In 1998, a devolved assembly was established in Scotland and one in Wales in 1999, but neither of these assemblies is responsible for foreign policy.


A bridge over water with a city in the background

England is located to the south and east of Scotland. It has over 50 million people, making it the most populous part of the United Kingdom. The city of London is England’s capital and largest city, with a population of about 8.5 million people. An estimated 43% of the UK’s population lives in England.

England is only one of the three countries that do not have its country flag. The English flag, called the Union Jack, was officially adopted by King James I in 1606 and contains three crosses: a St George’s cross representing England, a St Andrew’s cross symbolizing Scotland, and a St Patrick’s cross alluding to Ireland.


A large bridge over some water

Located in the north of Great Britain, Scotland has about 5.1 million people who live there, making up nearly 8% of the UK’s population. The capital city is Edinburgh where about 440,000 people reside. Scots are an ethnic group that makes up 82% of the population and English 9%, with smaller groups, such as Irish and Welsh.

Scottish history is characterized by centuries of conflict with England that ultimately led to Scotland uniting with England and Wales through a process called the Acts of Union (1707). The national flag of Scotland has been in use since 1606, but it was only formally adopted in the 1920s. It is known as the Saltire or Saint Andrew’s Cross and contains a white X on a blue background.


Wales is located along the western coast of Great Britain and has a population of about 3.1 million people, which represents only 12% of the UK’s total population. The largest city by far is Cardiff where about 350,000 people live. Like Scotland, Wales was conquered by England in the thirteenth century and has had its monarchy since the sixteenth century. Although Wales is an official part of the United Kingdom, its national assembly has more legislative powers than Scotland or Northern Ireland. The Welsh flag has been used since the fourteenth century and is known as Y Ddraig Goch, which translates to the red dragon.

Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland shares a border with the Republic of Ireland to the south. The two countries have been politically divided since several armed conflicts over Irish independence, including a war from 1919–1921 between the pro-Irish independence Sinn Féin and the Irish Parliamentary Party. The Good Friday Agreement was signed in 1998 to create a self-governing Northern Ireland assembly that was integrated into both the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. The assembly’s name was changed to “Northern Ireland Assembly” in 2002 when it started to have legislative powers independent of the UK. Northern Ireland has a population of about 2 million people, making up 3% of the total population in the United Kingdom.

Northern Ireland’s flag is called the Union Flag and it contains three crosses: St George’s cross for England, St Andrew’s cross for Scotland, and Saint Patrick’s cross for Ireland. It was officially adopted in 1801 and is different from the flag of England because it has a red background.

As you can see, the United Kingdom is made up of many countries and each one has its flags. Scotland, Northern Ireland, Wales, and England all have their national days where they fly their respective flags atop buildings or on flagpoles in recognition of the country’s culture and history. It should be noted that although these four countries are separate entities with no unified government (except for trade), there is a monarchy that unites them as The United Kingdom. This article provided an overview of what makes up the UK today to help you understand its diverse makeup better before traveling abroad!

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter